Yoga – A beginner’s guide

20130817-134054.jpg“Be grateful for whoever comes, because each has been sent as a guide from beyond.” – Rumi

yo·ga

noun /ˈyōgə/

A Hindu spiritual and ascetic discipline, a part of which, including breath control, simple meditation, and the adoption of specific bodily postures, is widely practiced for health and relaxation

My love affair with yoga started a year ago when I attended a Flow class at Hom Yoga Singapore. I have had gone for classes before at other studios, which did leave me feeling energized. But what moved me a year ago, til this day I am not able to place my finger on.

For those who know me on a personal level, you’d know that my first (and maybe true) love is for ballet. That still remains, and you’d be surprised to know that my weekly yoga practice has helped me in many ways in improving my ballet technique.

Inertia

If you’re a newbie like me, or wanting to start but have no idea how, or are fearful and apprehensive, fret not. Believe me, overcoming the initial jitters and/or hesitation is probably the one and only obstacle you have to get over; after that, you’ll be alright.

Starting Up

I had to learn this along the way – “what do I bring?” / “how do I prepare for class?” /  “what do I actually need?”

1. Lose that Ego

First and foremost you have to bring your commitment and whole self to the mat. Everything that was on your mind, your troubles and worries, you ego. Separate yourself from all of that; respect yourself, your time on the mat is for you and you alone.

2. Hydration

And of course, you definitely need a bottle of water. We can get to the fancy bottle stuff later on, but staying hydrated helps, and is a MUST if you are heading for a hot yoga class.

3. We all need a good form of support

Women, I highly recommend that you invest in a good chafe-resistant sports bra to support you during your practice. Also recommended, you have to seek brands that are targeted at Yoga in particular. My current favorite now has to be Lululemon Althetica (more on this in a later post!)

Where

My love for yoga started at Hom Yoga studio at Orchard Central. I have been practicing with them for a year now, but soon I will be moving over to Yoga Movement (just to change things up a little). Different yoga studios offer different styles of yoga, and doing a little reading up before attending a class might help mentally prepare you. Some studios can be a little pushy with sales, which is why I would recommend trying out the small studios around the island.

“I am not flexible!”

This is a common misconception of what yoga requires. Yoga does not require anything, but your commitment and awareness to the practice. Your journey through the practice is your’s and your’s alone. But through your practice, you will definitely reap multitudes of benefits.

If you’re looking for a yoga buddy, feel free to holla at me and I’ll be happy to push you into class *winks*

“Where you look is where you will go, look far and you will go far,”

T.

Leave a Reply

