The Hungry Girl’s Diary – Peanut Butter reviewed

20130828-203644.jpg

“One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well.”
― Virginia Woolf, A Room of One’s Own

A new segment to this wordpress – The Hungry Girl’s Diary. a compendium of gustational experience in and out of the kitchen.

And what better way to start, with Peanut Butter.

If you know me well enough, you’d know that Peanut Butter falls into the category of things I can’t live without. Skippy’s Creamy Peanut Butter in particular. Nothing is more satisfying that a generous dollop of PB on a slice of warm multigrain toast. Life doesn’t get any better…

Maybe it does. One fine day, a good friend of mine stumbled upon a blog post. He twittered me, “This reminded me of you,”

PB toast with Pickles – No taste-memory of PB toast nor of pickles would help me comprehend how this would taste. Wholesome, creamy, full bodied peanut butter, ridden and laced with tangy green hamburger things. No amount of cognitive capacity would allow me to imagine the flavors.

So I had to try it for myself.

20130828-210035.jpg

And I’m in love.

No amount of taste-imagining you do will prepare you for how this is going to taste. But believe me, it is amazing. The tangy crunch of pickles doesn’t offer much of a taste, rather it adds dimension to the creamy goodness peanut butter offers. That and a slice of toast off a good loaf of bread, and you’re on your way to enlightenment.

Go on, you know you want it.

So go forth, make pickle peanut butter sandwiches:

Makes 1 open face sandwich

– 1 Slice of Multigrain Toast – I got my loaf from Swissbake (65 Calories)

– 1 heaped tea spoon of Peanut Butter (65 Calories)

– 4 Slices of Heinz Hamburger Dill Chips (0 Calories)

Total Calorie Count = 130 Calories (45 Calories from Fat)

Get the original recipe here

T.

Leave a Reply

